News & Press: Press Releases

Press statement - SACAP 4th Term Council Status update

Thursday, 14 December 2017   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Jacquie Cullis
Share |


embargoed for release: 14 December 2017

The profession and stakeholders would have been aware of the challenges facing SACAP, with regard to filling vacancies on Council. Various appointed original 4th Term Council members had either resigned or vacated their seats on Council.  By April 2017, five Council members remained out of the origin eleven.

On 23rd August 2016, Council put out a further call for nominations to serve on the 4th Term Council and an extension was granted until 31 October 2016. Thereafter, Council submitted the list of nominations to the Minister to fill the vacancies on Council which, were not timeously appointed by the Ministry.

During this time, there was also an interpretation that the Council with the five remaining Council members was not quorate. SACAP sought legal opinion in this regard and received a positive response that the remaining Council members were indeed quorate due to vacancies and resignations that had occurred, leaving the remaining existing members as the duly constituted Council.

In addition, the three out of the five existing members of Council brought an urgent high court application against the Minister of Public Works (DPW) last week, as the Minister had terminated their period of office prior to the expiry of their terms of office, which is April 2018. On 12 December 2017, the Pretoria High Court ruled in favor of the applicants, namely – Dr Yashaen Luckan (SACAP President) Professional Architect, Mr Rowen Ruiters (Professional Architectural Technologist) and Mr Krish Ranchod (Public member). Mr Rakau Lekota, Professional Architect (State Representative) and Ms Gillian Bolton (Public member) were retained.

The South African Council for the Architectural Profession (SACAP) under the directive of the Minister of Public Works (DPW), the Honorable Minister Nkosinathi Nhleko, and the subsequent order of Court, has appointed the following five Registered Persons (RP’s) to serve as the interim replacements on the 4th Term Council for the remainder of its term :

Mr Philasande Sakhiwo Jolobe – Professional Architect (Pr Arch)
Mr Vusi James Phailane - Professional Architect (Pr Arch)
Mr Koena Samuel Manyathela - Professional Architect (Pr Arch)
Mr Ntsindiso Charles Nduku - Professional Architect (Pr Arch)
Ms Letsabisa Regina Lerotholi - Professional Architect (Pr Arch)

Issued by the Stakeholder Relation unit on behalf of the Registrar/CEO and Council.

Contact: Jacquie Cullis, Manager – Stakeholder Relations
Cell: 071 437 7909


Videshkumar Boodu says...
Posted Sunday, 04 February 2018
THE ERRONEOUS DECISIONS BY THE NDPW MINISTER WRT SACAP COUNCIL HAVE PUT YOUR LIVELIHOOD AT STAKE. It is on record that the Minister has received letters regarding vacant Council posts of SACAP on the following dates as shown below. These letters included recommendations after the Nominations procedures as legislated was carried out. 1) 2015-10-20 2) 2016-06-30 3) 2016-08-05 4) 2016-09-27 5) 2017-01-25 6) 2017-02-16 7) 2017-03-02 8) 2017-03-03 9) 2017-04-03 10) 2017-04-04 11) 2017-04-11 12) 2017-04-19 13) 2017-04-20 14) 2017-04-24 15) 2017-05-03 16) 2017-05-15 17) 2017-06-28 18) 2017-08-06 Why has the Minister not carried out his mandate after receiving these letters/notification? Why has the Minister not chosen from the list of nominated persons ((or the reserve (or rejected) list)) to fill in the vacancies? What is A4C's (OF WHICH THE LEADER IS A NDPW EMPLOYEE) role in this non-action? & by further extension SAIA's role in this.