News & Press: Press Releases

CICA Book and Journal Awards 2017

Tuesday, 17 January 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jacquie Cullis
Share |



Entries to be submitted by 30th March 2017

The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA is pleased to announce an invitation to publishers, editors, curators and authors to submit their publications for consideration for the 9th CICA Awards 2017 by 30th March 2017. Award winners will be announced during the UIA XXVI World Congress of Architecture to be held in Seoul from September 3rd to 10th, 2017.

The Awards fall into three categories:

Bruno Zevi CICA Book Award 2017
For published books on architectural criticism, theory and history

Pierre Vago CICA Award 2017
For an article of architectural criticism for individual, institutional or society magazines, newspapers and journals

Julius Posener CICA Exhibition Catalogue Award 2017
For a critical text, preface or introduction published in an exhibition catalogue or supporting publication produced for an architectural exhibition

Award Parameters

Publications issued between March 2014 and March 2017 are eligible for submission in any or all three categories. All material submitted for consideration by the Jury must be original, free of any copyright issues and as published (manuscripts or proof are not acceptable).

Five copies of each publication are to be submitted to the addresses below. Publications cannot be returned. Award winning items may be displayed at the UIA Congress. The verdicts of the International Jury are final.

Who is eligible?

Books, journals and catalogs can be submitted by publishers, editors, curators and authors.

A shortlist will be announced on or before the 1st of July 2017 and the category winners during the UIA XXVI World Congress of Architecture. The sender must indicate to which category he is submitting the publication.

Address for Submissions

The five copies of all submissions should be sent or delivered at the publisher’s or author’s own expense by 30th March 2017 to:

Prof. Dr. Manuel Cuadra / CICA Awards 2017
Universität Kassel / Fachbereich 6: Architektur
Gottschalkstrasse 30
D-34127 Kassel / Germany

For further information contact:
Prof. Dr. Manuel Cuadra –

The Jury:
Joseph Rykwert (USA/UK)
Manuel Cuadra (Germany)
Sengül Gür (Turkey)
Louise Noelle (Mexico)
Li Xiangning (China)

The International Committee of Architectural Critics CICA has, since it was established in Mexico City in 1978, been closely associated with the World Congresses of the International Union of Architects. 2017 is no exception and a CICA session is being planned for the UIA Congress to be held in Seoul.

The inaugural meeting of CICA was held in the Joan Miró Foundation in July 1979 when Bruno Zevi (Rome) was elected the first CICA President with Pierre Vago (France), Dennis Sharp (UK) Julius Posener (Germany) and Jorge Glusberg (Argentina) as Directors. The current President is Joseph Rykwert and CICA Board Members are François Chaslin (France), Manuel Cuadra (Germany), Louise Noelle Gras (Mexico), Süha Özkan (Turkey) and Yasmin Shariff (UK).

CICA has held critical sessions since, in Warsaw, Cairo, Brighton, Rome, Vienna, Sydney, Barcelona, Istanbul, Paris, New York, London, Gelsenkirchen, Beijing, Berlin, Rio, Buenos Aires, Kuwait, Vancouver, Torino, Tokyo and Durban.

On the CICA Awards
The CICA Book Awards were re-established in 2005 with the names of the three founding members.

Previous CICA Awards have included the following works:

1980: Manfredi Nicoletti, for L’Architettura della caverna (Bari 1980).

1985: Alan Colquhoun, for Modern Architecture and Historical Change (MIT Press 1981).

1987: Roger Connah, for Writing Architecture: Fantomas Fragments Fictions (Rakennuskirja 1989).

2005: Dalibor Vesely, for Architecture in the Age of Divided Representation (MIT Press, 2004).

2008: Murray Fraser with Joe Kerr, for Architecture and the ‘Special Relationship’: The American Influence on Post- War British Architecture (Routledge 2007).

2011: Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani for Die Stadt im 20. Jahrhundert. Visionen, Entwürfe, Gebautes (Wagenbach 2010)

Awards for Critical Journalism and for catalogue prefaces have been made, among others, to the following writers, teachers and critics: William Curtis, Peter Davey, Arthur Drexler, James Marston Fitch, Kenneth Frampton, Heinrich Klotz, Jean François Lejeune, Henry Vicente Garrido, Aydan Balamir, Abilio Guerra, Paul Larmour, Shane O’Toole, Roberto Segre and Rowan Moore.

Press release issued by : Comité International des Critiques d'Architecture, International Committee of Architectural Critics
Joseph Rykwert - President
Louise Noelle Gras - Chair
Manuel Cuadra - Secretary General

François Chaslin
Manuel Cuadra
Louise Noelle Gras
Süha Özkan
Yasmin Shariff